Any time something is "removed from the game", it typically means they just turned off a few UI elements, disabled a few scripts, etc. Most of the content is usually still active in the game's files, it's just inaccessible because of a few impediments to activating it.
I think I recall being one of the ones rushing to get it done before the quest was removed.