Mephiles550

Malak end-game model change: Is such a mod possible?

Has anyone ever considered the poetic irony of how good a finish the final boss of Kotor could have had if you hacked off Malak's mechanical jaw, just like you did years earlier with his original jaw? It would be great if the final scene where Malak is defeated and kneeling in front of Revan used his jawless model, a type of  "the circle is now complete" moment. 

Is such a mod even possible? To switch the models in between the fade out once you've beaten him? I imagine it's not, but I'd like to hear what some of the experts have to think about it. Scripting is out of my league. 

I'm guessing his cape animation would also be messed up, I don't think the jawless model has all the right animations. 

I am no expert but I do think what you are suggesting is indeed possible.

I think it is a matter of using a stunt model created for that particular cutscene.

56 minutes ago, Mephiles550 said:

I'm guessing his cape animation would also be messed up, I don't think the jawless model has all the right animations. 

As far as I remember, the two Malak models are identical except for the jaw, so animations aren't an issue. And even if they were an issue, the models are similar enough that they could fixed with a simple edit.

As far as changing Malak's appearance mid-cutscene, this is easy enough to implement by giving him a disguise effect or item.

If you are expecting to see the jaw being cut off with elaborate visuals, then Salk is right that it would require a stunt animation, which is a fair bit of work.

9 hours ago, Mephiles550 said:

To switch the models in between the fade out once you've beaten him?

Yeah it's possible to switch his appearance with the fade-in/out script that's currently available on the cutscene's setup.

9 hours ago, Mephiles550 said:

I think one can try porting the animations from the default model to there [or only change the reference of the supermodel].