Masamune753

Guidance on First Mod: Companion Quest Rewards for K1

Hello! I am extremely new to modding, but I have an idea I want to pursue that I would appreciate any guidance on.

The rough outline is to bring a version of TSL’s richer companion interactions to K1. The method would be to equip a custom “hide” item into your companion’s hidden inventory slot when you finish a companion’s relevant optional quest as a buff/reward. This is the same way that HK-47 receives all their buffs from your relevant repair attempts. The goal is to boost the weaker non-jedi characters, while providing some incentive/satisfaction for pursuing their individual storylines.

In my own attempt to research this, I have the following basics mapped out:

• I would need to create new .uti files for the items containing the buffs. 
  • I would need to create a script that equips the item in the “hide” slot (or replace an item already there)
  • I need to then attach(?) that script to the dialog or journal event associated with completing the relevant quest
  • I would also need to change/add text to the last dialog entry associated with that quest to explain to players the nature of the boost [ala HK-47’s repair boosts]

The relevant characters and quests are:

Carth → Finding Dustil
Mission → Mission’s brother
Canderous → Jagi’s Challenge
Zaalbar → Chieftain in Need

The boosts would attempt to make each character closer to the utility of jedi in a way that is consistent with the narrative:

Spoiler

• Carth (Keen & Massive Criticals)
    • The goal is emphasize seizing a chance to make a difference, i.e. revenge on Saul. 
  • Mission (Force Immunity: Fear + Stun & Bonus Damage to Dark Alignment)
    • Mission wants to prove that she isn’t a kid who needs protecting, so giving her the ability to stand her own against dark jedi feels appropriate.
  • Canderous (Ability to equip lightsabers)