Jike

[K1] Issues with ending quests and awarding XP

Much like the title suggests, I'm having issues with creating a script that's capable of both ending an active quest and awarding the PC some XP as a result.

I've been using the two following lines of code to try to achieve this:

//Using this line to end the quest by removing it from the journal.
RemoveJournalQuestEntry(tat_IzizCaptive);

//Using this line to award XP to oPC
GiveXPToCreature(oPC, 250);

However, when compiling so I can take it for a test run, compiling ends as it runs into syntax errors such as "Undeclared identifier 'tat_IzizCaptive' or 'oPC'" in the script. I've never done a script for this before so evidently I'm doing something wrong here I just can't quite figure out what. To be completely fair I likely inputted the quest name incorrectly as I'm unable to find the journal entry name. I have JRL Editor but that won't run even with all the DLLs present.

EDIT: I realised I need to define the oPC identifier with "object oPC = GetFirstPC();" so I've solved that issue. It's mainly just the quest ending and whatnot that's the main issue now. I know I need to create an identifier for the string a string to identify the quest using "GetJournalEntry" but I'm not entirely sure how.

Your problems are straightforward. In the first instance, you haven't declared the variables properly. Per nwscript.nss:

void RemoveJournalQuestEntry(string szPlotID);

Since the plot ID is a string it must be inside double quotes, like so:

RemoveJournalQuestEntry("tat_IzizCaptive");

Note that this function removes the quest, as stated - i.e. deletes it entirely. Typically you will want to advance a quest to a closed stage, assuming one is available, so that it is still viewable by the player in the completed quests tab. You can do that with:

void AddJournalQuestEntry(string szPlotID, int nState, int bAllowOverrideHigher=FALSE);